• PV Sindhu, Dipa Karmakar and Sakshi Malik receive the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards

    The three women athletes who made the country proud at the Olympics have now been given yet another honour. Olympics Silver medalist Badminton player PV Sindhu, Bronze medalist wrestler Sakshi Malik, and gymnast Dipa Karmakar along with shooter Jitu Rai received the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards at Rashtrapati Bhawan today, as part of the National Sports Awards ceremony. According to a PTI report, this is the first time in the history of National Sports Awards that four athletes have been awarded.

    President Pranab Mukherjee presented the awards at a sports awards ceremony in New Delhi.

    Also read: AIR India congratulates Olympic medalists Sakshi Malik and PV Sindhu with free air tickets


    Other women awardees are:

    Dhyan Chand Award 2016

    Ms. Satti Geetha – Athletics

    Arjuna Awards 2016

    Olympian runner Lalita Babar – Athletics


    Rani – Hockey

    Apurvi Chandela – Shooting

    Vinesh Phogat – Wrestling


    The National Sports awards are held every year to honour legendary hockey player, Major Dhyan Chand Singh who was born on 29th August, 1905. The award is dedicated to the most outstanding performer over a period of four years. This year, fifteen sportspersons were honoured with the Arjuna Award and three with the Dhyan Chand Award.

    Also read: Olympic victor Sakshi Malik’s training included 12 years of fighting misogyny

    Along with a glorious medal and a citation, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh. The Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each, said a press release from the Sports Ministry.

    Feature Image Credit: oneindia.com

    Read More Stories By Ria Das

    Join Us on https://www.facebook.com/SheThePeoplePage

    Follow Us on https://twitter.com/SheThePeopleTV

    Your Story On She The People